Skip to main content

Yamanote Line



The Yamanote Line runs in a circle around the center of Tokyo for 34.5 km, taking 59 minutes, and is one of the major lines in the Tokyo metropolitan area, connecting huge terminal stations with world-class passengers. It runs parallel to the Keihin Tohoku Line between Shinagawa and Tabata stations, and the Saikyo Line and Shonan Shinjuku Line between Ikebukuro and Osaki stations.

Since most of the line runs parallel to other lines, many different types of rolling stock can be seen. The Yamanote Line has few level crossings, with only one crossing, the "Daini-Nakazato Level Crossing" between Tabata and Komagome Stations, the only crossing on the Yamanote Line.

The line is also characterized by its high frequency of service, with trains running every 3 to 4 minutes during the morning rush hour on weekdays, and every 5 minutes during the daytime on weekdays. Digital ATC is used as the security system.

Key data

  • Line length:  34.5 km
  • Number of stations: 29
  • Safety system: D-ATC
  • Train model: E235-0 series
  • Max speed: 90 km/h
  • Routes:
    • Ōsaki~Ōsaki (1208G): "Local" - 11 cars - 29 stations - 34.5 km
    • Ōsaki~Ōsaki (876G): "Local" - 11 cars - 29 stations - 34.5 km
  • In-train announcements: Yes
  • Driver announcement (pointing-and-calling): No

Please note that, since the safety system is the D-ATC, the warning lights must be ignored and the Max Speed / Next Limit indicators are empty.

TASC - Train Automatic Stopping Controller

As this line is equipped with landing doors, the margin of error for stopping is +/- 35cm, whatever the setting. However, as TASC data is available, it is possible to use TASC and the slow advance/inching function to make an automatic stop.

To do this, press "T" at the very beginning to activate TASC (deactivated by default). Then, when you arrive at the station, all you need to do is be at ~50km/h or less when you get within ~150m of the stop for TASC to activate and make the stop automatically.

If, for any reason, the train stops outside this limit, you can activate slow advance/inching using "I" key to advance/reverse at 2km/h max. to position yourself correctly. Once you're within the margin, TASC will take over to stop the train.

Console detail

Apart from the pocket watch and the door-closing indicator in the center of the console, there are 2 displays.


The first display shows in the bottom area:

  • Brake level, with emergency brake indicator "非常".
  • Brake cylinder pressure (black arrow) and main air reservoir pressure (red arrow). Note that if this falls below the red zone (780kPa), the compressor starts up.
  • Speed dial, with limit indicator (green arrow) and the "pattern approach" (パターン接近) indicator.

The upper part contains the electrical voltages and various indicators:

  • Top-left:
    • 3-phase (三相)
    • Emergency short-circuit (非常短絡)
    • Snow resistant brakes (耐雪ブレーキ)
    • Safety Brakes (直通予備)
    • Cruise control (定速)
    • Parking brakes (駐車ブレーキ)
    • Inching in progress (インチング制御中)
  •  Top-right :
    • Digital ATC (デジタルATC)
    • ATC
    • Off (切)
    • Pattern reduction (パターン低減)
    • Emergency operation (非常運転)
  • Bottom-left, first line :
    • TASC power supply (TASC 電源)
    • TASC pattern (TASC パターン)
    • TASC brakes (TASC ブレーキ)
    • TASC off (TASC 切)
    • TASC failure (TASC 故障)
  • Second line :
    • Home position (定位置)
    • Vehicle doors closed (車両ドア全閉)
    • Platform doors closed (ホームドア全閉)
    • Platform doors linkage (ホームドア連携)
    • Platform doors separation (ホームドア分離)
  •  Bottom-right :
    • ATC normal (ATC常用)
    • ATC emergency (ATC非常)
    • Train stop operation (停通防止動作)
    • ATC power supply (ATC電源)
    • ATC release (ATC開放)

Consult the MON/TIMS/INTEROS screen page for more details about the INTEROS screen.



Driver's guide:

Timetables (in japanese):