Skip to main content

Narita Line



The Narita Line is a 75.4 km long line connecting Matsugishi Station in Chōshi City, Chiba Prefecture, to Sakura Station in Sakura City, Chiba Prefecture.This DLC includes a 94.7 km long section, including a portion between Chōshi and Matsugishi Stations and between Sakura and Chiba Stations on the Sōbu Main Line.The Narita Line, which opened between Narita and Sakura stations in 1897, has a history of more than 120 years.In the past, the “Suigo” express train operated between Tokyo Station and Chōshi Station via the Narita Line.Currently, only regular trains run from Chōshi Station to Sakura Station.

The Narita Line runs along the Tone River after leaving Matsugishi Station.The line heads for Narita Station via Katori Station, the gateway to Katori Jingu Shrine, one of the three shrines in the eastern part of Japan; Sawara Station, where you can enjoy the atmosphere of a Koedo town; and Shimōsa-Kōzaki Station, the nearest station to the historic sake brewery town.The long, quiet stretch of fields stretches all the way to Narita Station.From Narita Station to Sakura Station, the “Narita Express” express train runs between central Tokyo and Narita Airport, making this a busy section with many trains.

Key data

  • Line Length: 94.7 km
  • Number of stations: 22
  • Safety system: ATS-P
  • Train model: 209-2100 serie (4 cars)
  • Max speed:
    • Choshi - Matsugishi: 95 km/h
    • Matsugishi - Narita: 85 km/h
    • Narita - Chiba: 110 km/h
  • Max speed after signals:
    • Reduced speed (green/yellow): 65 km/h → Narita → 75 km/h
    • Caution (yellow): 45 km/h → Narita → 55 km/h
    • Speed restriction (yellow/yellow): x km/h
  • Routes:
    • Chōshi ~ Chiba (436M) : Local train - 22 stations - 94.7 km
    • Chōshi ~ Chiba (450M) : Local train - 22 stations - 94.7 km
    • Chōshi ~ Narita (2446M) : Local train - 15 stations - 65.5 km
    • Chōshi ~ Narita (2462M) : Local train - 15 stations - 65.5 km

Console details


On the left is the brake level, with the emergency brake indicator "非常".

Next, At the top are several indicators:

  • 3-phases (三相)
  • Emergency short-circuit (非常短絡)
  • Snow resistant brakes (耐雪ブレーキ)
  • Safety Brakes (直通予備)

Below, on the left, is the dial showing brake cylinder pressure (black arrow) and compressed air reservoir pressure (red arrow), as well as the dead man reset switch, and, on the right, the speed dial.

Then, on the right, we have the emergency stop, as well as the lock indicator and the pocket watch. For details of the screen on the right, consult the MON/TIMS/INTEROS screen page.

On the far right, you'll find the safety radio equipment, as well as the ATS-P indicators and 2 other indicators:

  • Group 1 failure (1系故障)
  • Group 2 failure (2系故障)


Useful links


Driver's guide: 

Timetables (in japanese):